Argonne National Laboratory Center for Nanoscale Materials U.S. Department of Energy

Successful Joint APS/CNM/EMC Users Meeting, May 2-5, 2011

Budget worries aside, nearly 600 dedicated scientists, staff, and students attended the 2011 APS/CNM/EMC Users Meeting held at Argonne from May 2-5, 2011. The opening plenary session included talks by Dr. Linda Horton (DOE Office of Basic Energy Sciences), Matthew Tirrell (Institute for Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago), and the Honorable Randall M. Hultgren (U.S. House of Representatives, IL 14th District), as well as Argonne’s Director, Eric Isaacs.

Facility updates by Brian Stephenson (APS), Amanda Petford-Long (CNM), and Dean Miller (EMC) offered attendees highlights of the past year’s activities at each user facility, as well as forward-looking perspectives on what the future holds for the user communities being served by these world-class facilities. The morning session concluded with a report from Simon Bare (UOP LLC) about the National User Facility Organization.

Parallel plenary sessions for the three facilities offered a diverse array of speakers to choose from. The CNM session highlighted Paul Weiss (UCLA), "New Dimensions in Patterning: Placement and Metrology of Chemical Functionality at All Scales"; Weida Wu (Rutgers University); "Multiferroic Vortices in Hexagonal Manganites"; and Paulo Monteiro (University of California at Berkeley), "High-Resolution Nanotomography of Green Cements," among others.

Student speaker awards were selected by judging committees to recognize work done at their respective facilities. The winner of the CNM prize was Prashant Deshlara (University of Notre Dame) for "Polarization-dependent MEIRAS Study of CO Adsorption on Pt Nanowire Catalysts." The CNM Best Poster Prize winner was "A Photoinduced Kinetic Model for Size-Dependent Effects in SERS of Bioinorganic Hybrid Systems" by Daniel Finkelstein-Shapiro (Northwestern University).

Day 2 of the meeting featured three cross-facility workshops: “Frontiers in Imaging and Spectroscopy,” “Emergent Interfacial Phenomena,” and “In Situ Phenomena in Catalysis.” The day concluded with a very well-attended poster session/reception with more than 120 posters.  Facility-specific workshops rounded out day 3, with the CNM hosting "Photoinduced Charge Transfer in Nanostructures." Details can be found online.

A large vendor exhibit and numerous social events rounded out the experience.  An album of photos from the meeting can be viewed on Flickr.

Randy Hultgren at Argonne

Argonne National Laboratory Director Eric Isaacs (left) moderates the address of U.S. Rep. (14th) Randy Hultgren.

Daniel Finkelstein-Shapiro at Argonne

CNM Best Poster award winner, Daniel Finkelstein-Shapiro, discusses his work.


U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science | UChicago Argonne LLC
Privacy & Security Notice | Contact Us | Site Map

The Center for Nanoscale Materials is an Office of Science User Facility operated for
the U.S.Department of Energy Office of Science by Argonne National Laboratory