Argonne National Laboratory Center for Nanoscale Materials U.S. Department of Energy

Colloquium Series

The Center for Nanoscale Materials holds a regular biweekly colloquium on alternate Wednesday afternoons at 4:00 p.m. in Bldg. 440, Room A105/106. The goal of the series is to provide a forum for topical multidisciplinary talks in areas of interest to the CNM and also to offer a mechanism for fostering interactions with potential facility users. Refreshments will be served at 3:45.

July 23, 2014

"Designing Complexity in Silicon Nanostructures for Enhanced Bio-interfaces," Bozhi Tian, University of Chicago, hosted by Leo Ocola

Abstract: Biological systems are rich with electrical and mechanical activities. Alongside the well-known pathways of biochemical regulation, there exist additional pathways of biological communication governed not by chemical reagents, but by electrical and mechanical signals. Silicon-based nanoscale materials and devices represent diverse and powerful tools for achieving nanoscale bioelectric interfaces with cells and tissue. For example, silicon nanowire field effect transistors exhibit exquisite sensitivity in chemical and biological detection and can form strongly coupled electrical interfaces with cellular components. My talk will focus on several biomimetic design considerations toward breaking down the boundary between nonliving and living systems across multiple length scales. I will describe how we experimentally apply these designs in the nanoelectronic systems for building minimally invasive interfaces with single cells and subcellular components. Specifically, I will discuss a new synthetic approach to realize the biomineral-like probes for extracellular measurements. Finally, I will describe the prospects in future fundamental studies and applications in the life sciences.

August 27, 2014 Tahir Cagin, Texas A&M University, hosted by Alper Kinaci
Sept. 10, 2014 Akif Tezcan, University of California, San Diego, hosted by Chris Fry
Sept. 24, 2014 Reuven Gordon, University of Victoria, hosted by Jeff Guest
Nov. 5, 2014 Wenbin Lin, University of Chicago, hosted by Yugang Sun

Colloquium Series Archives

2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 |

U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science | UChicago Argonne LLC
Privacy & Security Notice | Contact Us | Site Map

The Center for Nanoscale Materials is an Office of Science User Facility operated for
the U.S.Department of Energy Office of Science by Argonne National Laboratory